I am making dinner, which tonight includes a side of sliced apples.  Samantha is “helping.”

“What about the seeds, Mama?  I don’t like seeds.  I see seeds, Mama.  Look, a seed!  What about the seeds, Mama?!”

“I have a method.  Quit worrying about the seeds.  Hush.”

“But I see seeds!  I don’t like seeds.  What are you going to do about the seeds?  I don’t want seeds.  Look, those are seeds!”

She talks faster than I can keep up with.  I get the melon baller from the drawer and start scooping the core out of the middle of the apple halves.

“What are you going to do with the seeds, Mama!?  What are the seeds for?”

George answers, “They’re for sticking up your nose.”

“You’re being silly!  Everybody in my family is silly!  I have a such a silly family!”

I laugh, “You sure do!”  It’s all such a lovely moment, isn’t it.

Samantha isn’t done.  “That’s funny.  I thought Daddy was the smart one, and Mama was the silly one.”

